Skip to main content

LTH awards three new honorary doctorates

The board of the Faculty of Engineering (LTH) has decided to confer three new honorary doctorates. The new honorary doctors are Professor Ulla Vogel, Professor Ikhlaq Sidhu and the entrepreneur and business leader Yasemin Arhan Modéer.

Jonas Andersson – Published 20 December 2022

Images of the three honorary doctorates
Ulla Vogel, Ikhlaq Sidhu and Yasemin Arhan Modéer.

Ulla Vogel is head of Nanotoxicology and Occupational Hygiene at Det Nationale Forskningscenter for Arbejdsmiljø in Copenhagen. She also has several ongoing projects with LTH and has been Scientific Advisor for NanoLund since 2017. The justification also states that she is “a role model for converting basic and applied research into societal impact and improved legislation” and that she will be a very good ambassador for LTH. 

Ikhlaq Sidhu is dean of the School of Science and Technology, IE University in Madrid. He previously started the University of California, Berkley’s Sutardja Center for Entrepreneurship & Technology. He has had several collaborations with LTH, which offers a course based on his work on “entrepreneurial mindset”. The justification also states that he can contribute to the development of LTH’s innovation capacity and that he has a strong international contact network.

Yasemin Arhan Modéer is the CEO of Altitude Meetings and also, among other things, the chair of the child rights organisation, Barnfonden. She has a strong commitment to connecting societal needs to expertise in academia and is passionate about sustainability and different organisations meeting and collaborating in order to solve climate and health problems. She also works closely with MAX IV and ESS, and contributes to the development of Science Village through The Loop. The justification also states that she can help to advance the work of LTH regarding sustainability and climate issues as well as through dialogue with industry.

The new honorary doctors will receive their honorary doctorates at Lund University’s doctoral degree conferment ceremony in 2023.