Skip to main content

Awards and distinctions

Here we present awards, distinctions and grants received by staff and students at LTH, Faculty of Engineering. Please email tips to


3 October 2023

Professor Anne L’Huillier, Atomic Physics at LTH, has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2023, jointly with Pierre Agostini and Ferenc Krausz  for their experiments, which have given humanity new tools for exploring the world of electrons inside atoms and molecules.

25 September 2023

Lund University has a tradition of awarding its gold medal to express appreciation for commitment shown to the institution. The medal was awarded for the first time in 1967. Lund University's vice-chancellor Erik Renström, has decided to award this medal to Professor Anne L'Huillier from the Faculty of Engineering (LTH).

21 July 2023

LTH student Oliver Belfiore, majoring in Mechanical Engineering, has been awarded the 2023 scholarship from the Society of Swedish Engineers in Great Britain for "his passion for technology, design, motorsport, and his technical skills."

22 June 2023

For 2023, the Sahlberg scholarship is awarded to Marshall Ringisayi Machingauta for his thesis ”Development and characterization of an eco-friendly cosmeceutical formulation with optimal performance”. Marshall studied at the Master's programme in Drug Technology: Research, Development, and Production. He is now doing his PhD at Kemicentrum.

31 May 2023

LTH's visiting professor in architecture, Sandi Hilal, recently received the prestigious Golden Lion award at the Venice Architecture Biennale. At LTH, she works on developing artistic research within architecture with Lise Meitner funds.

19 January 2023

Professor Jan Olhager, Department of Mechanical Engineering Sciences has been designated as Fellow by the Decision Sciences Institute (DSI) at the DSI 2022 Annual Conference held in Houston, TX, in November.

20 December 2022

The Dean of LTH Annika Olsson and Professor Kimberly Dick Thelander have been inducted as new Fellows of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, together with other prominent researchers and experts in the private and public sectors.

14 October 2022

Four researchers from Lund University have been awarded considerable grants from the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation – Mikael Akke from LTH is one of them. Over a five-year period, they will conduct major projects on allosteric signalling, more effective immunotherapy, secretive helper proteins and quantum entanglement.

7 September 2022

Per Augustsson, Associate Professor at the Department of Biomedical Engineering at LTH, Lund University, has been awarded an ERC Proof of Concept Grant for his work on how liquids and cells behave in a sound field.

2 September 2022

Anne L'Huillier, Professor of Atomic Physics at LTH, was awarded the Gothenburg Lise Meitner Prize in 2020, an annual award for a researcher who has made a breakthrough in physics. Due to the pandemic, the award ceremony was cancelled, but next week the award ceremony will finally take place.

Page Manager: | 2023-01-11