Faculty of Engineering, LTH

34th EMS Summer School 2017
Membranes in Biorefineries
June 26 - 30, 2017


The 34th European Membrane Society Summer School focusing on “Membrane in Biorefineries” will be held in Lund and at Bäckaskog Castle in the South of Sweden from June 26 - 30, 2017.

This summer school will bring together leading European scientists and industrialists in the areas of membrane technology and biorefineries with students and young researchers. In an informal and creative atmosphere this summer school will cover all main aspects of membrane processes and how they can be used in biorefineries. This summer school is set to provide an inspiring and solid foundation for future cross-border cooperation about membrane processes and their utilisation in the production of platform chemicals and high-value added materials from biomass.

The target group for this summer school are students and researchers interested in integration of membrane processes in the concept of biorefineries.


Scientific programme

The core of the scientific programme will consist of tutorial lectures from both academic and industrial European experts within the fields of biorefineries and membrane processes. The aim of the summer school will be further supported by poster presentations to provide the participants the opportunity to present their own research and assignments to be solved jointly by the participants to stimulate discussion. Further, there is a field trip to the Stora Enso Nymölla mill ultrafiltration plant which is the largest tubular membrane plant in the world.



·         Concepts and products of biorefineries based on wood, agricultural crops and algae

·         Membranes processes in biorefineries

·         Applications of membrane process in the product and water loop of biorefineries

·         Membranes and modules used in biorefineries

·         Fouling, cleaning and economics of membrane processes for biorefineries


Excursion to Stora Enso Nymölla pulp and paper mill

Stora Enso is a leading provider of renewable solutions in packaging, biomaterials, wooden constructions and paper on global markets. Nymölla Mill – part of the Stora Enso Group’s Stora Enso Paper division – is a modern pulp and fine papers mill producing uncoated fine papers. By mixing short-fiber hardwood pulp with long-fiber softwood pulp different desired characteristics for various grades of paper are achieved. Annual production capacity is 340,000 metric tons of pulp and 470,000 metric tons of paper. For bleaching pulp, the mill mainly relies on Elemental Chlorine Free (ECF) methods. Bleach plant effluent is treated in an ultrafiltration plant which has a processing capacity of 400 m3 bleach plant effluent per hour. The ultrafiltration plant at Nymölla mill is the largest of its kind in the world and has been in operation since 1995. The total membrane area is 4,800 m2 (2,900 m2 on the softwood line and 1,900 m2 on the hardwood line).




April 20, 2017 - Registration, payment and room booking deadline 

May 27, 2017 - Poster abstract deadline 

Academic recognition

The EMS Summer School is the equivalent of 3 ECTS for participants preparing an abstract and presenting a poster at the summer school.

The ECTS points will be stated on the certificate of participation handed out at the end of the summer school. 



The hotel rooms are in the castle building and in an annex in the park, close to the castle. All rooms have wireless internet.

Book your room at: and refer to EMS Summer School 2017 when booking.

Hotel full board (4 nights) to be paid individually by each participant to Bäckaskog Castle:

- 5847 SEK in double rooms in one of the annexes located less than 100 meter from the castle

- 7047 SEK in single rooms in one of the annexes located less than 100 meter from the castle

- 9447 SEK in single rooms at the castle 

Registration fees

Students (undergraduate and graduate students) pay no fee

Early stage researchers (postdoc fellows, or equivalent, within 3 years from PhD graduation):

     1500 SEK for EMS members

     1800 SEK for non EMS members

Researchers and participants from industry:

     6500 SEK for EMS members

     6800 SEK for non EMS members

Scientific Committee

Chaired by Frank Lipnizki (Sweden), Alberto Figoli (Italy), Bart Van der Bruggen (Belgium), Wojciech Kujawski (Poland), Antoine Kemperman (Netherlands), João Crespo (Portugal), Mika Mänttäri (Finland), Cristiana Boi (Italy) and Ann-Sofi Jönsson (Sweden)

Organizing Committee

Chaired by Ann-Sofi Jönsson (Lund University), Frank Lipnizki (Lund University), Cristiana Boi (EMS)